Kampala is the capital city of Uganda. It is in the south central part of the Country close to the shores of Lake Victoria. The city is divided into five boroughs that oversee local planning: Kampala central division, Kawempe division, Makindye division, Nakawa division and Lubaga division.


Kampala district lies within the kingdom of Buganda, in central Uganda. The district is bordered by wakiso district to the south, west and north by Kira municipality to the east. The co-ordinates of the district are:00 19N,32 35E.


According to the Uganda Bureau of Statistics 2015, the population of Kampala was 1,659,600.


Mutesa l, the Kabaka(king)of Buganda, had chosen the area that was to become Kampala as one of his favorite hunting grounds, the area was made up of hills and wetlands. It was an ideal breeding ground for various game particularly a species of antelopes, the impala (aepyceros melampus).When the British arrived in the area they called one of the hills “the hill of the impala” due to the large presence of impala. The native Baganda used this reference in their local dialect (Luganda) –“akasozi k’empala” hence the name Kampala. It is worth noting that it is not usual for Luganda to adopt the soundings of English words into the language for example a car in Luganda is “emotoka” meaning a motor car.


  • The Uganda Museum
  • Kasubi tombs, where the remains of the kings of Buganda are buried were a major tourist site. However, these were extensively damaged by the fire in 2010 and currently being rebuilt.
  • Nomma art gallery
  • National theatre
  • Cathedrals-Rubaga and Namirembe
  • Gaddafi National Mosque (in old Kampala)
  • Bahai temple, atop kikaya hill
  • Kabaka’s(King’s) Palace.